Random News…

I made an oops. I honestly hadn’t realized how long the diary posts for Savvy were becoming. I know. I know. But when you’re writing in Word and copying and pasting into WordPress, sure you have a word count, but it doesn’t quite sink in how long that word count really ends up being! So, Becca and I spent some time and divided up the diary posts into something actually suitable for blog consumption rather than being posted at some fiction archive. So, if you click on the Star Stable Diary launch page, there is also now a handy dandy table of contents. Splitting them up revealed we actually weren’t as far behind as we thought. Go us! We’ve finished the next day of the diary and those entries will be coming out this month.

Otherwise, my brain has been really caught up in this video game pitch that I’ve been working on. I’ve taken on most of the art duties for it and it is overwhelming how much that needs to be done. Plus, keeping all the raw notes for the pitch itself and they keep growing. One step at a time.

Querying seems to be one of those processes that boils down to ‘hurry up and wait.’ Maybe at some point I’ll make a post about my experiences with it. (Preferably after my novel is bought.) It took me a bit to realize that I wasn’t doing as much querying as I should because I wasn’t happy with the way I was presenting my own work. So, I sat down in my car, Friday, and reworked my entire summary which led to a growling match at the stereo because I had to add a chapter. The book is now hopefully stronger for it. (Yes, I did this in the car, less distractions!) If I knew what I was doing, I’d be a person whose… not me. (I swear, I’m quoting somebody here, now if only I could remember who.)

Today is the Day of the Dead, or Los Dias de Las Muertas. A day where we remember those who have gone on before us. My grandmother Jean passed away when I was young. I spent a lot of time with her. She taught me how to water her flowers. Grandma Jean loved baking. There were always cookies at her house. I don’t have any of her recipes (she was very secretive) but I found this recipe while looking for Chocolate Cut Out Cookies. It is a bit sticky for cut out cookies in my experience with it, but would make for great round stamp cookies. It tastes just like a mug of hot chocolate. Mmmmm….

Hot Cocoa Cookies

1 1/2 Cups Flour
3/4 Cup Cocoa Powder1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon
1 1/4 Teaspoon Baking Powder
1/8 Teaspoon Salt
3/4 Cup butter, softened
1 1/4 Cups Sugar
1 egg & 1 egg yolk
1 Teaspoon Vanilla

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Mix flour, cocoa powder, cinnamon, baking powder and salt in a bowl, set aside. Cream butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in egg, egg yolk and vanilla. Gradually stir in the dry mixture to form a soft dough.

Form into round balls roughly 1 inch in diameter. Smash flat with fork or cookie stamp.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes.

Enjoy!

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

