2016: A Retrospective

The year is almost over. And for me, it’s been an interesting one. I spent half of it searching and querying agents only to self publish my book, The Lone Prospect, anyways. It’s quite possible I didn’t put it in front of enough agents. It’s also quite possible that it may not have been suitable for traditional publishing. All I know is that I put it out there and there have been at least half a dozen people who have bought my book. That’s half a dozen more than when it was sitting on my hard drive.

I learned a lot though querying. I learned a bit through self-publishing as well. And I’m still learning.

I managed to make it to 3 of 4 days of biketober fest. That was fun. The people were nice and I got a lot of pictures. I even handed out some flyers for my book. I’d never done that before. So, proud of myself. (Probably not a good investment in the long run though.)

Becca and I sent out a video game pitch to a small gaming company. We never heard back. But we did it, TWICE. Which was sad. We had a lot of really great ideas in that pitch. I ended up doing all the artwork. And well, it was a lot of hard work. At the same time, it was fun and I enjoyed it. I was really proud of what we did. It hammered home that I want to be in a line of work where I can be creative. Being creative relaxes me.

It’s time though to look ahead to 2017.

I’ve been thinking about starting a business, using the things I’ve learned in 2016. It would be an interesting next step in my career and life movie. I know I could do it. I can see myself doing it. It would give me a chance to help others and utilize google-fu and organization. I just don’t know if there is a market for it. So, that’s part of what I have to find out.

Becca and I are working on our own video game now. It’s going to be a lot of work. I’m excited about it. I’m excited because I get to be a writer and a fashion designer and a character designer. I’m excited because this way, I get input into a game that I want to play over a game that others think I’d want to play.

And I need to wind down talking about the Lone Prospect and start talking about my next book, The Dawn Warrior. There’s a warrior Princess trying to outwit her curse, a sarcastic teenage dragon, oh and you know, a beauty and her beast and werewolves, because, I like werewolves.

I don’t know what else 2017 has in store for me. But I think that’s enough for now!

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

