Action Movie Friday: Storks

It is time for Action Movie Friday, where I treat an action movie like an action movie and not like a drama and stuff. All movie reviews are subjective and while I may like something, you might think it’s shit, and vice versa!

Title: Storks
MPAA Rating: PG
Release: 2016
Genre: action, adventure, family
Starring: Andy Samberg, Katie Crown, Kelsey Grammer, Jennifer Aniston, Ty Burrell, Anton Starkman, Keegan-Michael Key, Jordan Peele, Danny Trejo, Stephen Kramer Glickman
Director: Nicholas Stroller, Doug Sweetland
Writer: Nicholas Stroller
Distributor: Warner Bros Pictures
Budget: $70 Million
Box Office: In-Theatres

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 63%

Gingersnaps Rating: Five Cookies!

Summary:

Storks used to deliver babies. Not anymore! Now, storks deliver packages for the Corner Store.Com. And Junior, the best package deliverer of them all, is about to be named BOSS. His problem, he has to fire Tulip, a female human orphaned from their baby delivering days. And when Tulip accidentally puts a letter into the baby machine at Stork Mountain producing a bundle of giggles. Well, Junior and Tulip must go on an adventure to deliver the baby before anybody finds out about it. What’s the worst that could happen? Wolf packs? Penguin Ninjas? Being found out?

Review:

Honestly, still not sure what to review and well, now for something completely different!

Storks is from the same animation company that brought us The Lego Movie. (Seriously, this is Warner Animation Group’s second movie.) And seriously, I hope they keep up the quality. Previous incarnations of this company brought us things like Space Jam and The Iron Giant. But on a budget of 70 Million, Storks has managed to bring in about 180 Million so far. That’s not bad. Not as good as the Lego Movie, but not bad for a property that had no brand draw. (Let’s face it, Lego is a big brand draw.)

Storks is meant for younger audiences. So, as such, the plot is pretty simple. In fact, the plot is pretty (insert minor cuss word here) formulaic. And while I wish, and I mean, I really whole heartedly wish that Hollywood would consider for the next decade throwing out that particular plot point near the end of the movie. I’m not going to get my hopes up. Because, I guess, that children over and over need to learn that we need our friends.

(SPOILERS) Surely, out there, there is some self-aware child going “I get it! Don’t ever tell my friends that I don’t need them. Bad things will happen!” I mean, come on, Find Nemo, Finding Dory, Cars, Toy Story, wait, is this a Pixar failing? I’m sure there are others, but those are the ones I can think of off the top of my head. Any movie about finding your family or a place to belong is generally going to have this conflict. Look, I get it. By the end of a kid’s movie, we need a low emotional cost conflict that doesn’t involve death, dying or torture. So, driving our friends away it is! (/SPOILERS)

But as I’ve said. I don’t really care if the plot has been done to death, as long as it’s entertaining. Being entertaining is really, the definition of this movie. Between the little boy who orders a baby brother and his parents. Junior and Tulip’s adventures and well the whole final show down. This story is massively entertaining. The dialogue is funny. The characters are engaging. It made me laugh. It made me cry.

Sure, I had my favorite moments. I loved the wolf pack. I loved how the boy manipulated his parents. The parents weren’t shown to be dumb. They really were smart people. They just weren’t engaged with their also equally intelligent son. I liked how they learned to become more engaged without having to go “they are dumb and need to learn a lesson” route as so many portrayals of parents in media can turn into. And well, I have something that is my super favorite, but I want to give her an entire section. Because she’s just that awesome.

Honestly, despite the predictable plot point. I really enjoyed the story and the dialogue and the characters. One cookie.

There was one point in this movie where I sat there staring at the screen going “oh shit, oh shit, oh, my, God,” as I watched the inevitable horror that was about to happen. Did it involve an explosion? No. Do I care? No. I mean, there were some funny explosions earlier. So, yeah, sure, there were explosions, but this moment trumps them and so, one cookie. (Maybe I should rename this to a “hanging on the edge of my seat cookie, or the ‘can’t believe my eyes that was awesome’ cookie.)

And while this was mostly an adventure movie. There were a few fight sequences. The most memorable between penguin ninjas and Junior and Tulip that had to be conducted in complete silence in order not to wake the baby. Oh and Junior and Tulip were in a round package looking something like a tall Mike from Monster’s Incorporated or that machine of Syndrome’s from the Incredibles. And there was again, the “oh shit,” fight. One cookie.

Like I said, what I really loved about this movie was Tulip! Can we please have more characters like Tulip? I mean it. The more I got thinking about this movie. The more I thought about how awesome Tulip was and how I wished Junior had been exactly the same character but female, so I could go off about how awesome and ground breaking Junior was too. But no! I get to rave about Tulip. I mean. Sure, Tulip is portrayed as a bit kooky and silly. She’s also an inventor and a scientist.

When she and Junior are talking about being President of the Corner Store, Tulip has a plan! (Junior doesn’t.) Tulip has ideas to implement if she was boss. She doesn’t want to be boss for the sake of being boss here. She has a vision. When it comes down to it, Tulip takes charge and quickly gets things done. Tulip also put aside her own happiness for the sake of the baby’s happiness. She had a chance to reunite with her family and not have to worry about delivering the baby. She chose to put that off in order to make sure the baby got to her family first. (I mean, come on, Tulip’s family is still going to be there.) And then, if we believe the credits, when it was all said and done, Tulip came back to Stork Mountain and continued to work there helping deliver the babies. How awesome is that? More characters like Tulip, please? One cookie.

Okay, really, there was one huge question I had after this movie ended. IF the storks were no longer delivering babies, where were all the children under the age of 18 coming from? Are they found in cabbage patches? Are humans also doing things the natural way? Were Storks like this “Adoption” type agency where couples who were having a hard time conceiving sent their letters to like Santa? I want ANSWERS!!!!

Did this detract from the overall movie? Ehh. No. Not really. Honestly, this is one of those movies where you don’t want to think about it too much because you’ve got the things that are firmly grounded in reality and then you’ve got talking animals such as wolves who use their bodies to make things like suspension bridges and submarines. And there doesn’t seem to be too much cross over between the two worlds of humans on their phones and with their houses and talking animals who to some extent like the Storks use technology and then the wolves form their own technology. As none of this really mattered to me while watching the movie, I’ll call it a success in world building. One Gingersnap.

Really, this is an incredibly cute movie that’s really funny and I would watch it again. Tulip is an awesome character. Highly recommend. Five Gingersnaps.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

