Important Things to Remember about Authors

*Authors are not rich. In fact, most make less than 10,000 a year. Being an author is a SMALL BUSINESS

*If there are 50 Reviews. Amazon lists a book in its newsletters and other promotions (Also Boughts)

*Reviews are the easiest way to say thank you to an author and ell their publisher to produce more books.

*Reviews can be short: “I liked it.” It’s the number of reviews that matters the most.

SUPPORT AUTHORS SUPPORT SMALL BUSINESS

http://www.tallpoppies.org

(I’m not sure how true this still is, but it is something to think about.)

, , , ,

  1. #1 by wildsoundreview on April 19, 2017 - 3:24 am

  2. #2 by onereasonableperson on April 19, 2017 - 4:54 pm

    Do you have any evidence to support the benefit of 50 reviews? I’ve read posts from a lot of authors who have that many and more. They all say that nothing happened when they reached the magic number.

    Like

    • #3 by Ginny O. on April 19, 2017 - 6:43 pm

      No. Unfortunately I don’t. I saw this in tumblr and that’s why I have the disclaimer at the bottom.

      There is evidence that steady reviews along with steady sales do help push your book up in Amazon algorithms. Amazon changes their algorithms all the time as sellers learn to “hack” them to try and push their products to the top.

      Having reviews is important though for other reasons. Places like Bookbub and similar will only promote your book if it has so many reviews. I feel the sentiment is important and that’s why I shared it.

      Like

  3. #4 by Liz on April 20, 2017 - 12:27 am

    Reviews give social proof, nothing more. The only thing that can tickle the Amazon algorithm are sales and borrows (when a person borrows a Kindle Unlimited book). I’ve seen that graphic being passed around and the only thing it does, at least to me, is guilt a reader into reviewing. It’s tricky business. We need reviews as social proof to get sales but we need sales to get reviews.

    Like

    • #5 by Ginny O. on April 20, 2017 - 6:25 pm

      Right. That’s why I was careful to say in the post I didn’t know how up to date the graphic was because Amazon changes things all the time. The other thing I’ve been seeing about reviews is that sites like goodreads put on the reviewers follower’s home pages that their “Friend” has read and or reviewed a book. And this is like free marketing. Because if they see it enough times they might read your book too and that will spread to their friends.

      I just got my first review last night. -shrugs- It’s a drip in a barrel thing. It is tricky and I’m not good about putting myself out there or pressing people to review my work because I know it’s not an obligation and I know that there are many many books that I’ve read (traditionally published) that I haven’t reviewed.

      People do need the reminder that we aren’t getting rich doing this. If the graphic was tweaked it would probably be better.

      Liked by 1 person

      • #6 by Liz on April 20, 2017 - 8:39 pm

        Reviews are certainly tricky and authors have come up with ways to get people to review their books, including offering it for free as soon as it goes live (if they’re in Kindle Select) so that anyone who reviews ends up with a verified tag since now, Amazon separates the verified purchases from the non-verified ones.

        Congratulations on your first review! It’s definitely scary to put yourself out there and it’s something I hate to do as well. I used to put a note that asked the reader to review but during my latest updates, I’ve removed most of them not intentionally but during the course of updating my paperback version and then forgot to put them back in. Amazon also has a box pop up anyway as soon as they finish reading that last page so whatever request I may have after the end of the last chapter gets set aside anyway.

        Like

Leave a Reply

